| Contact  

  About Us
  Medical Advisory Board
  Celiac Disease
  Dermatitis Herpetiformis
  Gluten-free Diet
  Other Links

Gluten-free Diet

What is the diet for individuals with celiac disease?
Individuals with celiac disease should not consume any of the following gluten-containing grains;

× Wheat (including atta, maida, sooji)
× Barley
× Rye
× Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)

All foods and beverages than may contain any of the above ingredients should also be strictly avoided.

The following foods are safe for patients with celiac disease if free from gluten contamination;

  • Rice
  • Corn (makai)
  • Millett (bajra)
  • Sorghum (jawar)
  • Lentils and Pulses (daal)
  • Oats (only if pure and uncontaminated)
  • Nuts and seeds
  • All fruits and vegetables
  • Milk and dairy products
  • All types of meats
  • Eggs
  • Salt, pepper, turmeric and other spices
  • Water, tea, fruit juices and most other beverages

Wheat is a very common ingredient of our diet. Contamination of other food products with wheat is common. For example, the preparation of corn flour on the same machine that makes wheat flour (atta) may lead to cross contamination with gluten. Therefore, corn flour made on such a machine will not be safe. Even a small amount of gluten can lead to problems. Although in some cases the person may not feel any symptoms after eating a contaminated food item, it still causes damage to the small intestines. If ingestion of contaminated products continues, serious complications like bowel cancer can occur.

When buying food products, the ingredients listed on the label should be carefully checked to ensure that they are gluten-free. If there is any doubt about contamination, it is best to avoid the food or drink in question.

When buying packaged foods, the ingredients list should be checked to ensure that they do not contain any gluten. If there is any doubt about contamination, it is best to avoid the food or drink in question.

A gluten-free diet is costly and can be complicated to follow. A consultation with the dietitian is essential to go over the details of a gluten-free diet.


Home | Directors | Advisory Board | Celiac disease | Brochure | Gluten-free Diet | Membership | Blog | Contact | Other Links

Copyright Pakistani Celiac Society , 2009-10. All Rights Reserved  Website Design and Developed By Future Vision Technologies